Seawanhaka Cup

Seawanhaka Cup Maximize

This is an example of a commission not for sale

Please contact us for more information:


NB.Choose "Request a Quote" as the subject heading and include the product name/ref.

More details


Total Rating:
- 0 reviews
Add Review

The Seawanhaka Cup, is the oldest yachting trophy, originating in America, that is still in active competition. Originated in 1895, the Seawanhaka Cup trophy was offered for the purpose of promoting small yacht racing and developing the Corinthian spirit among yachtsmen. The original challenge was sailed in half-raters, a boat of about 15 feet, with the Seawanhaka boat Ethelwynn, designed by William P. Stephens sporting a marconi main over 20 years ahead of its time. Ethelwynn, raced by Bert C. Ball and crewed by Cornelius J. Field and Fred Field, won the regatta against a challenge from J. Arthur Brand of the Minima Yacht Club of England in Spruce IV.

In August 2005, hurricane Katrina destroyed the Southern Yacht Club’s clubhouse in New Orleans and the original trophy was never recovered. Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club commissioned an outstanding, full-scale replica from Langfords in London. The new trophy was completed and delivered to Seawanhaka in time for the 2009 competition.

Only registered user can add review.